FMP : 3D models and Decision list

 

01010orange

3D MODELS

Screen Shot 2018-03-17 at 14.51.54

The creation of 3D models was a very complicated  and difficult process, due to the level of complexity and the quality standards I had to meet, I went through intensive research and experiments in many programs such as UNITY, BLENDER and MAYA

Screen Shot 2018-05-16 at 13.23.26

Learning about Blender and there after experimenting various model in it

Screen Shot 2018-05-16 at 13.26.28

Using blender was a simple process but the problem with it was that Xcode did not accept its output and the file format didn’t work, so I had to go back tot he drawing board and use different program which as UNITY

 

Screen Shot 2018-05-16 at 13.28.30

In UNITY I had similar problem to Blender, this time XCODE did accept the files but it did not work accordingly due to the complexity within the model codes and, to pull out that specific animation within the code was impossible as one animation contained around 20+ name tags

Screen Shot 2018-05-16 at 13.30.55.png

As you can see above I had to reduce the animation number count into one, for that to happen I had to use Maya.

Screen Shot 2018-05-16 at 13.39.14.png

Finally I had to finishing 3D models with Maya, this was a complicated process where I looked at many tutorials to get it right, eventually everything worked and now I COULD finally display 3D models in Augmented Reality using XCODE.

screen-shot-2018-05-16-at-13-49-32.png

This was the longest process of the project not only did I have to make 3D models but I also had to figure out how to place it in AR and have it interact with the users using touch controls.

 

DECISION LIST

As project progresses, you have to make sacrifices on some aspect to achieve the other. Specially, if you are a one man team trying to figure out everything. Either way its been a great experience to be able to build within the constraints of time, resources, and intellectual ability but its been a superb experience learning about deeper aspect of design, development and designing for a new field that is set to transform many industries.

For this project, I tried to keep the system as simple and intuitive as possible as its a new frontier for many users. The idea itself is new and I fully believe will be taking over our current system just as mobile devices and its interface has replaced the old desktop who now has its own specific purpose rather than the norm. “A key capability of AR [glasses] — compared to phones — is the ability to give people information integrated into their perception of the physical world,” says Dr. Franziska Roesner, a computer science and engineering professor at the University of Washington in Seattle. (NBC, 2017)

Currently due to lack of accessibility of the AR technology, I decided it to be designed for mobile but my project speculative in that this current idea can be adapted even more experiential and impactful ways when AR glasses will  eventually become mainstream.  “There will be 505 million AR-compatible smartphones by the end of 2017 and 4.2 billion by 2020, ARtillry predicts. AR apps will help seed the market for the eventual introduction of smart glasses.”  “IDC predicts that shipments of AR headsets will reach 24.6 million units in 2021, up from a mere 162,000 units in 2016. In 2021, 83% of AR headsets will be for commercial applications, with the rest for consumer use” (Investors, 2018)

This is the timeframe for this project as its speculative and that it creates a scenario at 2020 -2021 where people can have access to apps similar to mine but integrated in this new technology of AR glasses which can be used for what I am currently aiming for. This project has opened up a new world for me. I will be constantly updating my skills accordingly and potentially work on fields similar to this.

DETAILS OF DECISIONS

Removal of plane detections

  • Why? Currently the plane detection has numbers of variables that need to be correct for it to work such as lighting , the material of the placements etc..This also brings in ability to create a very interesting interactions but with the sacrifice of user experience. After testing without  ‘plane detection’ I found out it was a much better experience but with the sacrifice of some physics of the real world. I am still testing this phase and I will consider adding plane detection if the users find it better as in experience but from my current results they like it initially but it becomes an obstructions.

Removal of some Interaction with 3D model such as (size, placements etc.)

  • I had to remove the interaction with 3D model due to technical problem. As you are well aware, I am a designer now a technician due to complexity within the code I had to remove it for now. I have figured the technical part out but implementation will be quite difficult. I might integrate it in my future update.

 

WHY MOBILE?

  • Mobile is the number one device across the globe. This makes the application available to billions of people around the world, since the app is based only in IOS for now which can be easily changed of course  but currently it has reach of 700 million people across the globe. It is also a easy go to device and undisputed king currently. The reach might be slimly smaller with AR technology but still very high nonetheless less.
  • Mobile means you can use it anywhere, anytime For e.g. in the park, studio, living room, back garden etc.

 

 

WHY AR? 

  • It is better than videos or any other current from of exercise that does not include hiring a personal trainer, my execution of this idea might be limited due to the lack of resources, time and talents but the concept itself which I am certain will change the fitness industry and many other industries.
  • Secondly having it interact with the real world provides that extra layer of interaction with reality which according to many research have shown people find it experientially better.
  • Third for personal reasons where I wanted to explore and experiment with technologies to imagine and build something new and innovative.

 

Bibliography 

Leave a comment