FMP : Experimenting with AR/VR and eventually coming across technical limitations

Initially

After discussion with Angus I found that there is a way to integrate the current app into Google cardboard with can communicate my concept much more closer to what I imagined. After some experimentation! It worked like a charm but there was another key problem to which it seems the technicality might limit it which is currently there are no gesture recognisers

“This is not currently possible with the Google VR SDK in iOS neither with GVRPanoramaView, nor with GVRCardboardView or GVRVideoView and unfortunately the library is not open source right now.” (Stackoverflow)

However there is a technique mention in the same post above which, I am not sure will work with what I am trying to create but I will have to experiment. I firstly have no experience in Unity but I’ve always wanted to use it and was planning my next project to be used in Unity but since I have found a perfect sweet spot between the two I will be doing final experiments and test to build in Unity. If it works I will continue here…if it fails I will add on top the existing application in swift.

The reasons behind Unity? The below list all depends on execution and if I am able to ..

  • Potential better UX (needs testing)
  • Potential better UI (needs testing)
  • Potential better functionality
  • More presise
  • It should answer the concept if executed correctly able could become a better than existing product
  • I’ve always wanted to work with unity.

 

SUCCESSFUL Experimenting Mixed reality VR but let down by technical limitation.

Unfortunately let down by gesture controls and technical limitations of the technology both in software and hardware.

32498181_816360665225837_2626944900385472512_n

The above and below is the VR screen when displayed in mobile without google cardboard. I had successful integration of the app into VR but unfortunately the problem came up when I needed to add gesture controls.

32457076_816360668559170_6979557928877424640_n

This could work both landscape and portrait, once the technical complication is cleared which according to technicians will be during next updates, I will be moving it into glasses and it would look similar to above until I create for MR which is around 1-2 years time frame.

32308894_816815798513657_4883827399843643392_n.jpg

User doing some stretches, using the VR prototype, unfortunately the gesture controls let this path down as the technical aspect of it just not there yet.

 

POST UNITY 

Unfortunately after discussion with technician it seems what was possible is not possible anymore due to variety of updates and different interrelated systems having to overlap, some of which did not function coherently due to software updates and lack of updates within the codes and templates hence I have to drop this idea of integrating with VR

POST SWIFT

And with swift there is also limitation to integrate it to VR because of lack of proper gesture control or headset.

 

Unfortunately, had to drop it at last moment due to tiny issues, here and there

Screen Shot 2018-05-15 at 19.27.40

Conclusion : Had to drop the key part of the idea due to few limitation. 

Unfortunately, due to lack oft technical limitation the simple process of moving the display from mobile screen to glasses seem impossible for now. Once the technology becomes mature in a year or so, I will move it easily as you can see from the successful experimentation above just it lacked the other controls necessary.

 

 

Leave a comment